190 Comments

I'm on a farm in Wisconsin and I made a pot of pinto beans--with dried porcini mushrooms, onions and ancho chilis......so good ..and ate them with hot corn tortillas. Delicious --and go figure, it's vegan!

Expand full comment

It’s almost that cold here in Ann Arbor. On days like this I always want to roast a chicken and serve it with mashed potatoes and a glass of red wine.

Expand full comment

Tomato soup and grilled cheese eaten by the fire (with a good book) is Peak Cozy in our house!

Expand full comment

Posole!

Expand full comment

red lentil soup with onions, celery, veggie broth, long grain rice, cumin, chickpeas and tomatoes...delicious and comforting.

Expand full comment

Soup, Soup, SOUP!

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2022·edited Jan 12, 2022

I live on and manage a sheep farm in Western MT, where it gets cold a lot! My choice chicken and dumplings!

Expand full comment

Spaghetti Carbonara

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2022·edited Jan 12, 2022

Avgolemono soup with shredded boiled chicken and a lot of squeezed lemon juice. It reminds me of my childhood.

Expand full comment

Ruth, I made your wonderful stew on Saturday with local beef I picked up at the Bath, Maine farmers market. I finished it with the mushrooms and served it on Sunday evening, with mashed potatoes as suggested. My new favorite beef stew recipe! Another cold-weather comfort project is to put on a pot of chicken stock. The scent and the promise of soups with homemade stock makes me feel as if all is right with the world. :)

Expand full comment

“Wish I had time for just one more bowl of chili.” — Allegedly Kit Carson’s dying words.

Expand full comment

Pasta Fagoli

Expand full comment

A new one: bacon mushroom barley soup with leeks…a new found yum! ❄️

Expand full comment

Jane Brody's favorite lentil soup. Warms from tip to toe.

Expand full comment

Cream of celeriac soup. Cacio e pepe. A tuna casserole.

Expand full comment

I plan to cook a Chinese-style red-cooked chicken stew with carrots and peeled roasted chestnuts. It's my comfort food on cold days.

Expand full comment

Lentil Soup always does it. Yesterday I cooked a spontaneous vegetable soup, a little good goat cheese and slice of good bread!

Expand full comment

two things actually (never together) eggplant parmigiana (my husband’s favorite) or chicken soup!

Expand full comment

bread. the smell of bread in the apartment is comforting

Expand full comment

Cassoulet! Julia Child's beef Bourguignon! Tartiflette or Raclette cheesy comfort!

Expand full comment

Pea soup made with pork bones! Homey and comfy, no matter the season.

Expand full comment
founding

I literally just put a bookmark for your beef, onion and red wine stew in your book My Kitchen Year to make this Saturday when the weather will dip back into the teens. Home with Covid (fully vaccinated) I have 0 appetite but with your food descriptions I am hoping this stew will lure me back to my usual gluttony ;-)

Expand full comment

Chicken pot pie

Expand full comment

It doesn’t get any where that cold, here in Ventura, Ca. But lately it’s dipped to low 40’s, that’s freezing here in SoCal!😂

Comfort to me, are dishes each parent would prepare, Mom always her simple White Onion & Cheese Enchiladas with one black olive rolled in the middle. Dad, his deeply flavored Chicken Adobo over steaming sticky rice. Both took off the chill, each bite a flavor explosion and how each made me feel the Love they both cooked in these dishes❤️

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2022·edited Jan 12, 2022

My Concord Ma Grandparents had no central heat, no indoor bathroom, a wonderful sink with a water pump,an oil lamp over the round oak kitchen table, a fabulous wood burning stove in the kitchen, with Bumpers you could rest your feet upon...until she was 70 years!I wonder what she cooked in very cold weather...Something from the root cellar for sure, always mashed potatoes!

Expand full comment

I cooked a beef short-rib stew last night. The gravy with homemade bread was the best part.

Expand full comment

I made your beef stew! That brought a lot of comfort. Mine was made with fresh deer meat and a dark stout. Served over no-yolk noodles. Hubs declared “best stew ever”. That brought joy.

Expand full comment

Last night I made a big pot of chicken soup loaded with vegetables and beans. It warms me.

Expand full comment

Last week on a chilled to the bone day here in Toronto I made a beef short rib soup with tons of veggies, potatoes, and cooked it for hours! Amazing especially the 2nd day!!

Expand full comment

Anything with chicken! Pot pie, chicken and rice, chicken noodle soup…you get the picture! Right now, a good Brunswick Stew is sounding perfect for a dreary Chicago day.

Expand full comment

Anything braised. I've made the cassoulet that I made at Champagne. That takes some planning because I'll make the confit a week or so ahead. More often though it's beef bourguignon or black bean soup or chili. God you'd think after all these years of cooking I'd no longer have to look up how to spell bourguignon. LOL

Expand full comment

Wine braised pot roast with onions from the Gourmet Today cookbook. This is my favorite pot roast recipe. It cooks in the oven and fills the house with wonderful smells.

Expand full comment

Savory Oatmeal. Made with chicken stock, turmeric, ginger, scallions, fresh basil, sesame seed and tamari. Best way to start a cold morning (better with a little chili crunch).

Expand full comment

Bread. Lots and lots of bread.

Expand full comment

Okra chowder x Lee Bailey (rip) 👌🏽

Expand full comment

Hello from the UK, Ruth! We just had bubble and squeak for dinner - perfect comfort food, with a fried egg on top! Bon appetit! :-)

Expand full comment

I made pasta fagioli last night and Dorie Greenspan delicious tea cake which got thumbs up from my husband- very good indeed. Still have some of your old edition Gourmet-boy do I miss that magazine 💞🥶

Expand full comment

Homemade tomato soup with the diva of grilled cheese; pot roast with horseradish.

Expand full comment

Tuscan Ferro Soup!

Expand full comment

Pasta e fagiole, of course!

Expand full comment

Definitely something beefy; always Beef Bone Broth, Beef Stew (Laurie Colwin's recipe is a winter regular), and homemade chicken stock for yummy chicken, veggie and rice soup. I could live on all of these through February!

Expand full comment

japanese-style curry with chicken thighs, onions, many carrots, and few potatoes.

Expand full comment

Hoppin' John (it's not just for New Year's!).

Expand full comment

Big pot of beef vegetable soup. Later this week maybe spaghetti w/ meat sauce, the sauce based on Joy of Cooking recipe

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2022·edited Jan 12, 2022

These days it’s become chicken and dumplings. I’m a chronic broth maker, so always have good stock on hand. I brown skin-on bone-in pieces, throw in onions, some carrots and a bit of celery. I add a quart or so of homemade chicken broth, some water, seasoning, and simmer it until the house smells lovely. Top it off with some drop biscuit buttermilk dumplings (very low simmer, covered, and don’t peek). That’s comfort food for a chilly day.

Expand full comment

Same weather here! Turned on the oven to 450 and made a sheet pan kielbasa with cabbage and white beans. Made enough for lunch leftovers. At least we can walk it off today with balmy double digit temps!

Expand full comment

Beef vegetable barley soup with homemade whole wheat bread and butter, except the thick chuck roast that the employee selected for my grocery pick-up order is too beautiful to cut up. It will become a luscious pot roast, and I'll make soup (or hot roast beef sandwiches) from the leftovers. Stay warm, everybody.

Expand full comment

I made a pot roast this week with lots of dried and fresh mushrooms.

Expand full comment

I deserve no sympathy on this, but it's 49 in Savannah and to us it's really freezing. You would think being from NY, I would not feel that way.... Anyway, yesterday I made Creamy French Onion and Mushroom soup (Half Baked Harvest Recipe). It is really delicious. Used creme fraiche instead of the 1/2 c heavy cream and a splash of sherry at the end. Delicious.

Expand full comment

Last night I made Potato Celery Soup from Gourmet magazine in the 1990's.!

Expand full comment