96 Comments
Mar 1, 2022·edited Mar 1, 2022

Welcome Ruth! Gjelina and/or Gjusta would be on my list and if you're heading downtown Girl and the Goat (along with loads of others)! Violet in Westwood is beautiful too. Have a fabulous time - we are turning up the heat for you today, xo

Expand full comment

I second Zhengyalov Hatz! Such a delicious and unique Armenian restaurant in Glendale that only serves one thing but serves it perfectly. Bridgetown Roti in the Arts District has vegan Caribbean food that I haven't stopped thinking about since I first ate there. And then I love Ricky's Fish Tacos, a truck on Riverside Dr that embodies the perfect LA taco truck experience for me.

I'm sure you've heard about Yangban Society, but I thought they lived up to the hype. And then, inspired by the fish shopping article you shared, if you haven't been to Fish King in Glendale, it's the best fish market I've ever visited (and also sells some extremely fresh and delicious poke)

Expand full comment

Fish King! Great place to get your fish. Plus, sushi, poke, fried seafood.

Expand full comment

Jitlada, Found Oyster, Courage bagels, Woon, Antico

Expand full comment

Since you loved The Joint, you should try Crudo e Nudo in Santa Monica on Main St. Beautiful raw, dry-aged selections, was a pandemic pop-up turned brick + mortar. Really charming and downright crave-able. Do not miss out on Brian’s halibut crudo with arbequina olive oil and his tuna tartare toast with onion confit.

Also on Main St., COBI’S for Southeast Asian dishes and stunning curries, as well (Main St. is certainly having a renaissance with these spots, Pasjoli, etc.).

Expand full comment

Destroyer, Anajakthai, Phenakyte

Expand full comment

Hi, Ruth! I'm a food writer and a longtime fan of your work. I'm also newly based in LA (by way of NYC). With six months of residency now under my belt, my favorites so far are: Northern Thai Food Club, Lasita, Mini Kabob, Courage, Quarter Sheets (I think best pizza I've had in LA, not to mention the cake...), Bakers Bench for phenomenal vegan croissants, Yang's Kitchen, and X'tiosu Kitchen.

Expand full comment

Ha! Just read this after I posted a long rant below about my love of Quarter Sheets! Couldn't agree more! I'm a pizza maker based out east, but have some LA ties, and have had the pleasure of getting to know and exchanging ideas with Hannah and Aaron over the last year, and they are the best. The pizza, the cake, it's all just A+++. Such a treat! Can't wait to get back!

Expand full comment

Fishing with Dynamite in Manhattan Beach

Expand full comment

Whenever I get back down to LA the first thing I want to eat is Zanku chicken, the best fast and healthy food on the planet! Their roast chickens are succulent, with delicious garlic sauce, hummus, and addictive purple turnips! YUMM!!!!

Expand full comment

Paradise Cove Beach Cafe...Great Setting in Malibu...Forma in Santa Monica.

Expand full comment

Socalo in Santa Monica https://www.socalo.com/

Expand full comment

N/naka

Expand full comment

Estrano Things: wild pasta-ish pop up by a former Bestia chef. Very LA: death metal blaring, sophisticated cooking from a single burner outside on a desolate corner in Virgil Village.

Expand full comment

Guisados on Sunset Blvd in EchoPark - tiny open-faced tacos, Mexico-City style - deliciosa!

Expand full comment

Horses on Sunset

Expand full comment

Hi Ruth! Doubting Thomas in Filipinotown has the best breakfast burrito I've ever had (with braised pork shoulder) and the pastries are out-of-this-world (flipped for the carrot cake, I've heard raves about the tangerine bun, but I think you have to get there early). Bacetti in Echo Park for the pasta and focaccia, Zhengyalov Hatz in Glendale, for delectable flatbread with 15 types of herbs inside -- it's the only thing on the menu, except for the Paxlava for dessert, and Kismet Rotisserie which offers the platonic ideal of a half-chicken dinner (with hummus, pickled vegetables, a wedge salad with Poppyseed dressing, garlic sauce, and chili oil). Enjoy!

Expand full comment

Musso and Frank forever. Langer's Deli. Leo's Taco Truck. Cole's French Dip. Varnish for cocktails.

Expand full comment

The pastor at Leo’s is fantastic.

Expand full comment

Long live Musso & Frank, what a tradition! You should try the flannel cakes for breakfast with a ramos fizz.

Expand full comment

It's a bit of a hike from LA, but Lily's in Malibu sells the very best breakfast burrito on the planet!

Expand full comment

Guelaguetza, Bestia, both some Jonathan Gold favorites!

Expand full comment
Mar 1, 2022·edited Mar 1, 2022

Lacha Somtum in East Hollywood for a staggering array of Northeastern Thai dishes that are hard to find elsewhere. Mr. Sate in Culver City for extremely low-key, extremely delicious Indonesian soups and rice dishes. Marugame Monzo in Little Tokyo for traditional and experimental udon bowls where the noodles are cut and twirled right in front of you. I'll let others recommend the more high-end places!

Expand full comment

Ceviche project on hyperion: yum!

Expand full comment

If you drive South on the 405 please visit Marché Moderne in Crystal Cove ( between Newport Beach & Laguna Beach) it’s truly wonderful. French inspired husband wife Chef team , delicious food/ excellent service & all’round ocean vibes.👌💋

Expand full comment

Alimento in Silver Lake is delightful. It's not classically Italian; more like a new American version of Italian food. Intimate, with friendly service, and absolutely divine pastas.

Expand full comment

Tacos Villa Corona for breakfast burrito - $5 and does not disappoint

Expand full comment

The Woodspoon - chef just wrote a new cookbook!

Expand full comment

I love the Peruvian cuisine at Rosaliné in WeHo. Fantastic paella and ribeye.

Expand full comment
founding

I’m afraid all my favs are predictable. Melisse, N Naka, La Monarca Bakery, Matsuhisa, Vespertine, Trois Mecs , Kinn, Republique, Otium, Angry Egret.

Expand full comment

Great to have you here! A few memorable meals I've had in recent months: can't stop thinking about the Nasi Goreng at Cobi's, cornish hen at Horses, pretty much everything from Anajak, and the onion tarte tatin at Bicyclette (rumor has it Manske's next concept opens above it this weekend). If you haven't stopped into the Formosa for a mai tai, it's worth a trip back in time to old Hollywood. Lastly, if you happen to spot a dry-aged Flannery steak on any menu, definitely go for it. Buon appetito!

Expand full comment

Seconding Destroyer! Also: Kismet, Joy, Found Oyster, Angry Egret Dinette, Petite Peso, Here’s Looking at You, and Horses! (And so many more…)

Expand full comment

Felix Trattoria in Venice. Love La Briffe - have purchased several of your suggested items (wine opener, Wine glasses from Made-In and the coffee canister from Fellows) and loved them all - thank you!

Expand full comment

Hi Ruth,

When i was a teenager i visited you at Gourmet magazine. You took me to your test kitchen and I remember tasting a certain stew. Now your in LA, and I live in Santa Barbara. I would be honored to have you at my home and I will make you donner. Plus I’ll show you around to all the wonderful foodie place. They are delicious! I hope you have a wonderful weekend

Expand full comment

Eggslut at Grand Central Market and I second Gjelina in Venice Beach

Expand full comment

Love Alice Waters new restaurant Lulu and Hippo in Highland Park is creative, especially their vegetable sides

Expand full comment

Friends & Family on Hollywood Blvd for breakfast or lunch. Their menu is not large, but everything I’ve eaten there has been excellent. They also have a beautiful display of pastries , many containing heritage grains. The morning buns are my favorite.

Love this post… I’m heading to LA for the month of April and will make full use of this info

Expand full comment

If you have time to head to Ojai, “The Dutchess” - www.thedutchessojai.com

Expand full comment

Sqirl, definitely. On recent trip to LA, I finally made it and it was just wonderful.

Expand full comment

If interested in branching out beyond to lesser known neighborhoods head to Long Beach for Colombian food at Selva (newly opened) and for one of the only spots specializing in dishes from New Mexico - Panxa Cocina!

Expand full comment

horses! its a MUST

Expand full comment

Appollonia’s Pizza on Wilshire

Expand full comment

Just starting to wake up from our covid stupor… we’ve been ordering takeout or picking up from from Yojimbo, Badmaash, Jon and Vinny’s, Tsubaki, Luv2eat Thai, Marouch, Carousel, Mizlala, Tacos 1986, Petty Cash,Kismet, Sqirl, Sycamore Kitchen, Be U, Murakami…

Recently actually went out…ate at Tokki and Kinn…

I’m getting hungry!

Expand full comment

Hi, Ruth! Nando Trattoria in Manhattan Beach is transportive! The brothers who run it are from Sicily by way of Milan, so their dishes reflect both northern and southern sensibilities. From squid ink paccheri with seafood brodo to gnocci with black truffles, the pastas are exceptional. Of course the cannoli are authentic, but the Bronte pistachio gelato is ethereal.

Expand full comment

Hi Ruth! Of course, a pizza recommendation (and some of the best cake and baked goods I've had): Head on over to my friends Aaron and Hannah's shop, Quarter Sheets in Echo Park. Open on weekends (https://www.instagram.com/quartersheets/). Aaron has crafted truly the best pan pizza slice, somewhere in between a NY-style Sicilian and a focaccia, that I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Light and fluffy, with complexity from the sourdough fermentation, divine toppings. Just heaven in a square slice! And Hannah, an acclaimed pastry chef (https://www.instagram.com/hannahziskin), rounds out the duo with her magnificent pastries and cakes. It's a winning combo, and perfect for a weekend lunch. They're a culinary dream team and I think you'd love their food, and love meeting them! - Rafi

Expand full comment

Go have ice cream at Rori's in Santa Monica! so delicious!!

Expand full comment

Shutters in Santa Monica!

Expand full comment

I’m a lover of good pizza. I adore Mozza, but I also love L’Antica Pizzeria da Michele. I have a small place in Italy and can be known to get on a train, early in the morning and head to Naples. To Michele’s.

Another place I can’t get enough of, is a wonderful French bistro, Petit Trois, is my go to. I think I’ve eaten the complete menu several times over. Ha!

Konbi is my Japanese egg sandwich hang. Delicious. I’ve only had take away. Small place. Other menu items are dreamy, as well.

Bicyclette gotta have that egg and caviar. They do it so well. Onion tarte great! With a dirty gin martini. I’m down!!

Expand full comment

I'll email my niece who lives there for suggestions!

Expand full comment

I know Ojai isn't in LA but would highly recommend the Dutchess which has just recently opened and getting incredible press.

Expand full comment

PINKS!

Expand full comment